American Sentences….

IMAG0125I recently purchased a book called “Ordinary Genius: A Guide for the Poet Within” by Kim Addonizio the title caught my eye and when I head read the blurb I found it was about the creative process and I thought it might be useful to use in this project.

Although the book focuses on poetry and not music I thought this might help me in writing lyrics as there are a lot of exercises laid out in the book that can help to inspire creativity.

One of these exercises caught my eye it’s in the chapter titled “Getting Started” the section I am specifically referring to is called “American Sentences”

The idea is credited to Allen Ginsberg and is “inspired by the traditional Japanese haiku” but instead of having syllables divided into lines (a Haiku is three lines of five, seven then another five) an American Sentence is “one sentence of seventeen syllables”

Referring back to Tunesmith by Jimmy Webb, syllables are also mentioned but Webb describes creating patterns of syllables as “Music without the notes, a kind of drumbeat” If Webb describes this process as “Music without the notes” surely all I would need to do is fill in the notes in order to craft a melody around the rhythm?

An idea I’ve had is to start writing lyrics and melodies by arranging verses in these American Sentence type paragraphs. Obviously this idea requires some tinkering but this will be explored in a subsequent entry.

Leave a Reply

